Barbaraanne's Hair Comb Blog

Ebay: Chinese Ivory Export Comb

Posted on: October 28, 2011

Someone is selling a beautiful Chinese ivory comb made for export to the Victorian market, c. 1890. It has a lotus flower in the middle, with beautiful scroll work. Stylistically married on top are balls of the Peigne Josephine. You can tell it’s Chinese by the shape of the bottom bridge and tines underneath the decorative tiara. Lovely piece. I have my hair comb payments tied up until April of next year, so someone under 5 feet tall will not be bidding. ;-) We’ll see what happens at the end of the week! :-)

Another beautiful example of a Chinese ivory export comb comes from The Creative Museum. Two dragons or griffins are having a conversation.

Here is mine.

कंघी

For more scholarly research, please examine

The Comb, by Jen Cruse

Le peigne: Dans le monde, by Robert Bollé

Chinese and Japanese Hair Ornaments by The Creative Museum

3 Responses to "Ebay: Chinese Ivory Export Comb"

I love all of these exquisite Ivory combs! This is one of the items that I want to add to my collection. I will be looking, but I too have taken up all that I want to at present on my combs…. After all I have to plan for the upcoming holidays.

Blessings to all.

Barbara Anne,

I have acquired a very large and ornate hair comb that I cannot find information about. Would you be interested in lending your considerable expertise? It is a very large tiara-style tortoise-looking piece. It is so large that I’ve only found one thing on the internet that I could consider comparable.

Thank you for your consideration.

Terri

I would LOVE to see your collection. Can you send me pictures to barbaraanneconsulting@gmail.com? If I don’t know everything, my authors will. :-) Oh, how exciting! :-)

Leave a Reply

Receive email notifications of new posts.

Join 28 other followers

Longlocks Hair Sticks

http://www.longlocks.com

Your long locks are truly one-of-a-kind. Shouldn't your hair jewelry be?

Creative Museum

www.creative-museum.com

Two sparrows clutch berries in this clear horn comb by Albert Vigan, c. 1900

Jen Cruse. Author

The Comg: Its History and Development

Lavishly illustrated with over 500 photographs, this is a wide-ranging, scholarly reference book.

Miriam Slater: Artist, Collector

http://kanzashicollector.com

I hope to share the beauty of Japanese hair ornaments with a broader audience.

Kajetan Fiedorowicz: Artist, Collector

kdg.com.au

May peace and human kindness be victorious over war.

Jessica Beauchemin

www.jessicabeauchemin.ca

"to link the nuances of creation to the precision of the handwork"

ACCCI

www.antiquecombclub.com

The Museum Scholar

http://paper.li/BarbaraAnneMuse/1311651488

Connecting hair comb collectors and major museums

Blog Stats

  • 113,887 hits
